I’m Dyslexic.

But I only found out that I was dyslexic when I came to university. My dyslexia is different from others, I have short term memory problems, phonological memory issues, writing and speaking. But I’ve used the support in place from university, student finance and working out how to do things in my own way.

The university were the ones who suggested for me to get the test. I had always known that I had a learning difficulties but were never diagnosed. At school this was hard because I was referenced to as “special”. I were isolated from the “normal” and were taught differently. At primary school I had to go to a “special club” for VIP members. Which was to help with my social skills. But the reason I didn’t talk was because every time I did I was patronised or criticized. So I thought it would be best just not to talk.

Then I got to secondary school and was ignored. This meant I had to help myself. I used to start revision 4 months earlier than everyone else. I took longer on essays and found it easier to do the work by myself so didn’t contribute in class. Throughout school I was told I wasn’t the brightest and should aim low. Then I got my GCSE results and got A*-B’s this was the moment I realised I could achieve anything I set out to do and shouldn’t listen to what others say.

I then got to university feeling like I could achieve but found it hard to handle everything. This led me to getting diagnosed and knowing I was actually dyslexia was an amazing feeling. The university then helped me apply for DSA support (Disabled Student Allowance) this helped me to get free equipment to help me with my studies. This meant I could get a software on my laptop to read books to me which helped me take it in.

However in second year I had moments when I didn’t like being dyslexic. This was because I compared myself to others, when we got essay results and I got lower than my friend I blamed my dyslexia. I started thinking I couldn’t do better. But then my friend reminded me that there is no point in comparing yourself to others because even though I may get lower marks in my writing, being dyslexic means I am more visual and creative. Just need to see it was an advantage in other ways.

A lot of creative people are dyslexic such as Orlando Bloom, Jim Carry, Robin Williams, Steven Spielberg, Cher and Albert Einstein. They have all achieved a lot so you shouldn’t feel like you have to aim lower.

At this current moment in time I’m fine with being dyslexic. I don’t see it as a disadvantage any more and am coping with it. But sometimes I do struggle but its normal to and being dyslexic is normal. This is something I want to change in schools that having a learning difficulty or disability shouldn’t exclude you from other people, it just means you have to do things a little differently. I love to write, it just means I write differently to others and why is being different a bad thing?

Why Be The Same When You Can Stand Out. Lucy.

