My Friends 21st Surprise Birthday Party

I came home for my friend of 9 years birthday party. Her mum told me about the party and that I should come as a surprise so I jumped on the train and came home to surprise and I did. She didn’t know anything. The look on her face was surprise, confusion and excitement. We hadn’t seen each other in a while and so this was even better. The night began on an odd note, I walked in to a slide show of my friend projected on the wall with Celine Dion’s my heart will go on but the instrumental wind pipe version.

This night was surprisingly (no pun intended) nostalgic. We were back in her childhood house which I hadn’t been in for 3 years and just had memories of all the crazy house parties we had there and the weird sleepovers. This made the night even more fun just laughing at our 16/17 year old selves. For instance her 17th birthday party I remember her mum hired a live band in her tiny house but the band got really drunk and throw up everywhere.

My friend is half Peruvian and so the party was Latin themed, I had never been to a Latin party and oh my god I want to go to another one. Her family was there so most people were Peruvian which made it more fun. You get given loads of alcohol and hats and dance like crazy. It was amazing! I especially loved my hat, I felt like a witch on an acid trip, so I identified with it spiritually.

Our other friend then joined us post hat so she was very confused, I would be too. But then it became a classic mad house party as she brough gin but no mixer and had the genus idea to shot it. Big mistake, why would any one shot gin? But this just made the night all the more fun and weird.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 11.36.22

I love surprise parties. I’ve never been to one but understand why its so great now. Its everyone you love coming together for you. Demonstrating their love of you and what you mean to them. Let’s all surprise our friends … with a rendition of Celine Dion’s my heart will go on the wind pipes, I highly recommend.

Happy Birthday. Lucy.

