All These Films are 11/10.

This is an ambitious list to make, thinking of all the films I have seen and defining them as my “favourite”. These are in a general order but are all films that I love and are special to me. The thing is with “favourite” films is they might not be the BEST films but they mean something to me or take me to a special time or place. There are so many that I’m going to do two parts to this starting from 100 – 51. The first half (this post) are more films I’m inspired by and the next post are films that are special to me. I advice if you haven’t seen any of these to watch them. Highly recommend. Some really good shit.

Untitled-1

 

  1. Kingsman: The Secret Service (2014, Matthew Vaughn)

I like the directors style and love that there is a disabled character who isn’t seen as disadvantage, though its not perfect but I really enjoyed the style and English film charm.

  1. Psycho (1960, Alfred Hitchcock)

A great psychological thriller with creative camera skills in times where the budget wasn’t massive and so used what they had creativity. This makes great filmmaking and what I learnt from this film; not to rely on budget.

  1. Ghostbusters (1984, Ivan Reitman)

When hybrid genre’s work, they work really well so comedy and sci-fi was something I was always going to love. It has an 80’s charm and classic Bill Murray making it funny and Sigourney Weaver bringing the spooky sci-fi.

  1. Juno (2007, Jason Reitman)

This has one of the best dialogues written, even though its not realistic for a teen to speak like she does, but its so witty, funny and captivating I wish I spoke like that.

  1. Hot Fuzz (2007, Edgar Wright)

This is another hybrid that works so well making a cop film funny with great lines and uses every bit of a filmmaking to create humour or tell the story in an interesting way.

  1. E.T. The Extra Terrestrial (1982, Steven Spielberg)

This, like many people, is a memorable childhood film and why I love 80’s films, especially Spielberg. It has that charm of a child having an impossible adventure with a heart warming ending that makes you nostalgic for your childhood.

  1. Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind (2004, Michel Gondry)

The layers to this film are so complex and must of been so complicated to write, but are told in such a simple way that makes it seem flawless. It also demonstrates great acting from Jim Carrey who don’t usually do drama acting.

  1. Who Framed Roger Rabbit (1988, Robert Zemeckis)

The use of animation and live action was done so well and used comedy in this format to create something uniquely funny

  1. Weird Science (1985, John Hughes)

I love John Hughes films and this one is a weird one but seems so normal when you watch. It was a teen movie, with a teen party but with cloning? Iconic.

  1. Sixteen Candles (1984, John Hughes)

Another of Hughes’ films that for me is one of my favourite rom-coms as it makes a girl feel special and wanted when she isn’t at home.

  1. A Hard Days Night (1964, Richard Lester)

This film seems like a dream, Ringo being the star in my eyes and just reads a book for awhile. A Beatles’ special.

  1. Hush (2016, Mike Flanagan)

This horror takes a cabin in the woods/ home invasion film and makes it new by having the main character deaf making new obstacles and interesting ways to create fear for the audience.

  1. Troll 2 (1990, Claudio Fragasso)

I have a love for terrible films, this is so bad, even the title is bad. There wasn’t a Trolls 1 they just straightaway went to 2. You know its going to be good when it’s a squeal to nothing.

  1. The Dark Crystal (1982, Jim Henson, Frank Oz)

Jim Henson and Frank Oz are some of the best fantasy creators ever. This film is all puppets which make weird noises and music, its overly dramatic making is comical. This is one of the first films my Dad showed me and I only ever watch it with him as we find it so funny.

  1. Terminator 2: Judgement Day (1991, James Cameron)

Classic Arnie film, a great action sci-fi with lots of blood.

  1. Sweeny Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (2007, Tim Burton)

This is one of my favourite musicals and I really enjoyed the film adaptation. It’s Tim Burton meets singing meets blood.

  1. School of Rock (2003, Richard Linklater)

I think this is Jack Black’s best work its funny and teaches kids… something… about doing what you want? I don’t know its just funny and good music.

  1. Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope (1977, George Lucas)

My favourite of the originals, though Yoda (the best character) isn’t in this one so I would watch all three any way.

  1. Stars Wars: The Force Awakens (2015, J.J. Abrams)

I love the new one, it demonstrates how Hollywood can do diversity in actors well. Hopefully they learn from it.

  1. The Cabinet of Doctor Caligari (1920, Robert Wiene)

This film is a big inspiration to me it keeps coming up in research for writing or making a film. Mainly due to camera work and stylistic back drops.

80. Airplane! (1980, Jim Abrahams)

A classic comedy with one liners I use all the time.

  1. Back to the Future (1985, Robert Zemeckis)

Another 80’s gem. You can tell I really love 80s movies from this list. The reason is for their charm, their fun, fantasy, easy going but with great filmmaking and storytelling. Characters who are interesting and complex, more than ones now.

  1. Escape from New York (1981, John Carpenter)

80’s future dystopian films are my aesthetic.

  1. The Running Man (1987, Paul Michael Glaser)

An 80’s Hunger Games esc film with Arnie in tight lycra suit. Noice.

  1. The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (2009, Terry Gilliam)

Heath Ledger’s last film and with Terry Gilliam creating a magical piece of cinema demonstrating great reasons for cgi and green screen.

  1. Face/Off (1997, John Woo)

Just John Travolta and Nicolas Cage doing what they do best, acting. Quality entertainment.

  1. Halloween (1978, John Carpenter)

The use of POV in this horror was a big deal and has helped to develop the genre. You don’t know who the killer is and makes it scarier than a lot of horrors.

  1. Idle Hands (1999, Rodman Flender)

A 90’s teen film with lazy teen zombies and a killer hand that tries to kill teens, what more do you want?

  1. What We Do In The Shadows (2014, Jemaine Clement and Taika Waititi)

I love mockumentary as a genre and this is a great one. It’s a documentary of vampires who have been “alive” for hundreds of years and are trying to fit in with the modern world. It’s a New Zealand film so has very dry humour which is my type of humour so found it hilarious. This film reminds me though of my flat mates who I watched it with as we laughed so much to it.

  1. Pretty in Pink (1986, Howard Deutch)

FASHION! FASHION! FASHION! And has one of the best best friend characters of any film.

70. Kill Bill: Vol. 1 (2003, Quentin Tarantino)

My fav Tarantino, Lucy Liu being amazing! A cross between a samurai film, assassins and b-horror movie.

  1. Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade (1989, Steven Spielberg)

The best Indiana Jones Film, I don’t care what you say.

  1. Ghostbusters (2016, Raul Feig)

I really liked the remake, it was a modern version with women doing a great job, just annoys me because of all the fuck boi’s on the internet hating it.

  1. 28 Days Later (2002, Danny Boyle)

My favourite Danny Boyle film who is my favourite British director. It’s a classic zombie film but with some twists. I studied this in A-level Film Studies and watching it through an analytic point of view made me love British film and horror.

  1. Space Jam (1996, Joe Pytka)

The fact that Bill Murray is just a cameo who pops up at random times with a funny speech, means the rest of this film even better.

  1. The Boy (2016, William Brent Bell)

This film has lots of twists and turns in which surprised me, I didn’t see them coming which doesn’t happen very often in films.

  1. The Final Girls (2015, Todd Strauss-Schulson)

I love films where it’s self aware and the film uses conventions to play with and create humour and new interesting commentary on the genre. The Final Girls does this very well and is filmed very interestingly.

  1. Mean Girls (2004, Mark Waters)

A quoteable classic I’ve watched it with most of my friends and is a film you can watch together and have so much fun. I’ve watch it with all my close friends and so it close to me.

  1. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010, Edgar Wright)

Edgar Wright again making a movie that feels like a comic book should feel as a movie. (Marvel should take some tips)

  1. Clueless (1995, Amy Heckerling)

Another classic I watch with all my friends and quote frequently.

  1. Easy A (2010, Will Gluck)

A rom-com using modern technology and modern issues about the double edge sword of being a girl and either being a virgin or slut but both are bad?

  1. Kick-Ass (2010, Matthew Vaughn)

Another fine piece of Nicolas Cage acting but also is what I want from a comic book film, failing some times, having fun and comic book style violence.

  1. Muppet Treasure Island (1996, Brian Henson)

One of my favourite films as a kid. I love watching different versions of Treasure Island but this version is a gift; The Muppets, Tim Curry and Tim Curry singing. I used to watch it so much when I was little my Mum banned me for a while from watching it. It’s not for everyone.

  1. Super 8 (2011, J.J. Abrams)

My love of 80’s movies, remade now with all the sci-fi geekiness (yes that’s a word) that you need in a film like this.

  1. 101 Dalmatians (1996, Stephen Herek)

The live action film was another favourite of my childhood, Glen Close is amazing. This was also a film my Mum liked and would always watch with me but would then refuse to get a Dalmatian.

  1. Addams Family (1991, Barry Sonnenfeld)

Family Goals. Spooky funny times.

  1. Shutter Island (2010, Martin Scorsese)

This film is one of those I watch again and again and still feel the surprise of the plot twist ending which I’m not sure still, what actually happens. Each time I think I make my mind up of what ending is real I change my mind.

  1. Breakfast At Tiffany’s (1961, Blake Edwards)

I love this film for Audrey Hepburn’s character, I hate her “love interest” but she is a great complex female character. Plus she has a cat.

  1. Hugo (2011, Martin Scorsese)

A great cast, great visuals and great story. I romanticise watches, they experience time and are essentially time machines, seeing what past owners have done and its travel from one person to another. This film fulfils everything I love about this idea of mine.

  1. Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban (2004, Alfonso Cuaron)

The best Harry Potter film, I love the darkness with magic making it spooky. It’s the moment where the characters develop a lot, has time-travel and classic teen problems in it.

These are only 50 of my favourites, the next 50 will be on my next post on Friday. I hope these give you ideas on what to watch and what makes a favourite film for you.

Try New Films. Lucy.

