And It Continues..

This is part 2 of my favourite films, films that might not be the best but are my favourites for other reasons. If the first half were films that inspired my filmmaking these are more about who I watch them with, when, where and what it meant to me. I advice you, once again, to watch them. Highly recommend. Some really good shit.

Untitled-1

50. Shaun Of The Dead (2004, Edgar Wright)

The best of the Cornetto Trilogy my favourite hybrid of zombie horror and comedy done well before other films shat on this genre.

49. Edward Scissorhands (1990, Tim Burton)

The first Tim Burton film I watched and feel in love with with his work (80’s – 90’s Tim Burton lets ignore Dark Shadows). It’s dark romance, comedy contrasting different people together making it funny.

48. Aliens (1986, James Cameron)

The best of the Alien films, just Sigourney Weaver being a kick ass lady.

47. Mad Max 2: The Road Warrior (1981, George Miller)

Also the best the original trilogy, some insane fashion monsters.

46. The Wizard Of Oz (1939, Victor Fleming)

I watch this every Christmas with my Mum and fills me with happiness, the songs, the set and the acting just makes me happy.

45. The Lord Of The Rings: The Fellowship Of The Ring (2001, Peter Jackson)

Yep I’m a nerd. LOTR is my fav, the epic journey, mythical characters and great villains makes it as great as it should be.

44. The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers (2002, Peter Jackson)

The second is also great my Mum “found” the extended version DVD in a locker room and so took it and I’ve watched it so many times with the commentary that I can’t watch the film by itself.

43. The Lord of the Rings: The Return Of The King (2003, Peter Jackson)

This trilogy made me realise you can make anything in film and made me want to make films.

42. National Treasure (2004, Jon Turteltaub)

A special piece of art I watched with my friend. Nicolas Cage’s performance is on another level and makes me so happy about his choices.

41. National Treasure: Book Of Secrets (2007, Jon Turteltaub)

It’s a Nic Cage sequel with more over acting and more odd choice. I watched this with my friends in their house, in September, raining outside and cosy inside, the perfect movie watching condition.

40. The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992, Brian Henson)

I watch this every Christmas Eve with my Dad, its a classic story but with singing Muppets and Michael Cane. It’s absolutely bizarre and I love it.

39. Willy Wonka and The Chocolate Factory (1971, Mel Stuart)

I’m writing this a couple days after Gene Wilder’s death and makes me so sad. He’s was a comedy genius and this was one of the best. It was weird and scary too making it a classic.

38. La Haine (1995, Mathieu Kassovitz)

I studied this film in A-level’s and it had such a great ending that every time I watch it I’m still surprised.

37. City Of God (2002, Fernando Meirelles and Katia Lund)

This is one of the only films that makes me cry every time. It’s about the Brazilian Favelas and how children are treated and are stuck in them. The director asked a little boy what was the saddest thing he could think of and he said a toothache and so thought of that whilst he cried in a scene where he was shot in the foot. All the actors were from the Favelas and where given a good education and money from the film to get out of the Favelas.

36. Zombieland (2009, Ruben Fleischer)

I watched this on New Year’s Eve 2010 with my family and was great New Year’s watching a horror film and eating food. I love the use of titles and think it really works in this film as in other it can be bad.

35. The Breakfast Club (1985, John Hughes)

Yes another John Hughes film but this has some of the best acting ever. And the scene with the best acting was improvised making it even better and just about talent.

34. The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014, Wes Anderson)

The quick and smart dialogue in this film makes me so happy and love the format of a story with in a story within a story. It has Jude Law doing a voice over who has the best voice over voice of all time.

33. Batman (1989, Tim Burton)

This has a lot of elements I love, Batman, the Joker and Tim Burton. My Dad showed me these after I watched all 4 in one day I loved them so much (expect the last we don’t talk about that one)

32. Batman Returns (1992, Tim Burton)

Michelle Pfeiffer as Catwoman was an amazing experience she was so cool, sexy and intimidating woman. A woman who can do any thing and loves cats, that’s what I want to see.

31. Home Alone (1990, Chris Columbus)

My favourite christmas film that 80’s charm at CHRISTMAS! Nothing can beat it. Picture the scene, raining and cold outside, pyjama’s and thick duvet in bed, a cup of warm tea in one hand and chocolates in the other. That’s how I watch this film every year.

30. Bridesmaids (2011, Paul Feig)

A film that taught me any woman can be funny. Any.

29. The Conjuring (2013, James Wan)

I love Vera Farmiga and in this film you actually care about the her character (I don’t always care about the main character’s in horrors) but because I cared I was more into the film scared of the monster.

28. The Conjuring 2 (2016, James Wan)

I think because it was set in London I liked it more which is an illogical reason but it felt like a British small film.

27. Monty Python and The Holy Grail (1975, Terry Gilliam and Terry Jones)

The first time I watched this was with my Dad and didn’t know what to expect, I found it so funny and different I told all my friends at school and thought I had gone mad or had a weird dream.

26. Scream (1996, Wes Craven)

Great writing using what the audience know about horror making it so clever but flawless in its smarts.

25. The Shining (1980, Stanley Kubrick)

This is my favourite classic horror film, I love the production design, script and acting. They all work together to bring you into the film and now every time I stay in a hotel with weird carpet I get scared.

24. Pirates of The Caribbean: The Curse of The Black Pearl (2003, Gore Verbinski)

The first Pirates of The Caribbean was so great before the other 4 shat on it. It had great acting and script, a great adventure film which we had been missing for some time. Johnny Depp got an Oscar nomination for it, but we forget it was so good because of the others being a big steaming pile of poo. (I’m very passionate about it)

23. Jurassic Park (1993, Steven Speilberg)

Another great Speilberg film I used to watch with my brother when we’re younger as we both loved Dinosaurs but now I watch it realise it’s kind of scary. I find a lot of films I watched when I was younger were scarier than I remember.

22. Mad Max: Fury Road (2015, George Miller)

Demonstrates how to make a good sequel to film from a while ago. The cgi was some of the best I’ve seen making a beautiful film through out.

21. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986, John Hughes)

I love breaking the forth wall and this film does it the best. This was the first John Hughes film I saw and started my love for the rest.

20. Scooby-Doo (2002, Raja Gosnell)

ART.

19. Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed (2004, Raja Gosnell)

MORE ART.

18. Se7en (1995, David Fincher)

David Fincher is great director and this film has incredible performances and was the first film to demonstrate big twists and shocking endings done well.

17. Die Hard (1988, John McTiernan)

Another great Christmas film but wish action and explosions, the true meaning of Christmas.

16. Housebound (2014, Gerard Johnstone)

When I watched this film in an cottage in The Cotswolds, in the dark with my parents it made this film even better. The first time I watched it I didn’t like it because I wasn’t in the mood. But this time made it scary and so funny I had to pause it my Dad was laughing so much.

15. The Goonies (1985, Richard Donner)

The film I think of when I think of my childhood, I would watch this with my Dad then I would be Mikey and go on an adventure in the woods behind my house and my Dad would suddenly jump out dressed as the evil woman (minus the dress).

14. Pan’s Labyrinth (2006, Guillermo Del Toro)

My favourite Del Toro film, I love the bloody fantasy and the cross between reality and this other world you don’t know is real.

13. Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter (1984, Joseph Zito)

Everything I want from a cabin in the woods type film and the best Jason film.

12. The Princess Diaries (2001, Garry Marshall)

This film taught me so much, taught me to be myself, I can do more than I thought and to always have fun in what to do. I couldn’t sleep very well as a child so would watch this and would fall asleep and have dreams about the film.

11. Fight Club (1999, David Fincher)

This was my case study film in A-levels where we had to learn everything about the film. I can’t ever watch the film again but it made me understand it more and film. But mainly I love this film because my friend and I would make jokes all the way the through.

10. The Dark Knight (2008, Christopher Nolan)

Heath Fricking Ledger (his formal name)

9. The Princess Bride (1987, Rob Reiner)

I can quote this film so much it annoys people. I love the type of humour that I can’t find in other films.

8. The Way Way Back (2013, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash)

I watched this with 2 of my friends before we went to University. It really called to me at that time of change and the end of the summer and starting a new. It’s also a great film.

7. Labyrinth (1986, Jim Henson)

This started my love of 80’s movies. I first watched it when I was 5 and scared the shit out of me. But now I think it’s masterpiece of puppet’s, acting, set and David Bowie wearing tight tights.

6. Young Frankenstein (1974, Mel Brooks)

My favourite comedy that makes me laugh constantly, the amazing Gene Wilder and Igor the comedy genius.

5. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999, Gil Junger)

The best teen film, Heath Ledger again being amazing but has so many modern themes of women having choice and doing want they want. I used to watch this religiously with my friends at every sleepover and reminds me of being 14 and that strange time.

4. Heathers (1988, Michael Lahmann)

I watched this film with Mum and feel in love with the dark comedy my Mum doesn’t really like films but the films she does like are horror or dark making me obsesses over them as I know their good if my Mum likes them.

3. Addams Family Values (1993, Barry Sonnenfeld)

I’ve always identified with Wednesday being different in a world of the same. Now I watch this as I’m older I love it so much more, it’s so funny and sweet in a dark way.

2. Matilda (1996, Danny DeVito)

This films taught me a lot, taught me that it doesn’t matter about your circumstance you can change it, kindness isn’t a weakness and Miss Trunchbull is my idol; psychically and mentally. My friend and I quote this film so much that for Halloween he came as Miss Trunchbull and was my favourite thing off all time.

1. Beetlejuice (1988, Tim Burton)

Yep, Beetlejuice is my favourite film. I think everyone forgets this film but it’s such an incredible. It’s classic Tim Burton, creepy, funny and creative. A great combination of live action and some stop motion. Michael Keaton is amazing in this film, his energy as funny creep that you think is disgusting but find so entertaining. I love this film so much I went as Lydia for Halloween. But I think this film makes me happy as I first watched it with my Mum and Dad and was one of their favourite films they were showing me. I then showed it to my friends and became my favourite because people associated it with me.

This has meant I’ve developed a new relationship with films, it’s about who your with making everyone feel something together. After my car crash films have made me forget whats happened for an hour or two, it makes you feel anything else than what you are feeling.

Enjoy A Film Together. Lucy.

