Creativity Is An Adventure!

I decided to do a whole post about animated films because there’s who just too many on the favourite films list. Animation has always been a great love of mine from watching it as a child and creating animation’s myself. Watching animation introduced the form to me but my love of animation has continued to adult hood for many reasons I will discuss:

favanimatedfilms

22. The Princess and the Goblins (1991, Jozsef Gemes)

This was my favourite film as a kid, it had a great musical number with a little boy singing and trying to hit the high notes. But otherwise it’s about a Princess getting captured by weird Goblins with mummy issues. I’m not painting the best picture of the film but it was really good.

21. Ratatouille (2007, Brad Bird and Jan Pinkava)

I love food so a film with a lot of food in makes me happy and hungry. It’s creative, funny and beautiful film that I really don’t see for kids, it’s a very adult Disney film.

20. My Neighbour Toronto (1988, Hayao Miyazaki)

It’s a refreshing film compared to a lot of animated films (Disney) that can seem very familiar.

19. The Land Before Time (1988, Don Bluth)

Another childhood favourite, though I warn you it’s very sad at the beginning which I was surprised by when I watched it again as an adult. 2 minutes in I’m crying and I remember it being a happy film. Yep Yep Yep

18. Finding Nemo (2003, Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich)

I’m not crying you’re crying. Another film where I’m crying in the first 2 minutes. But it has adventure and fun and iconic moments.

17. Chicken Run (2000, Peter Lord and Nick Park)

Every Christmas Day I watch this with my family and every time I fall asleep in it and have never seen the end. I love it don’t get me wrong Aarmad make great films but I refuse to watch it now unless on Christmas Day and at some point I’ll see the end.

16. The Curse Of The Were-Rabbit (2005, Steve Box and Nick Park)

A classic British film from Wallace and Gromit the puns in it are on another level of British repression using innuendo instead.

15. Spirited Away (2001, Hayao Miyazaki)

It’s visually inspiriting and intelligent, arty with out being artsy.

14. Alice in Wonderland (1951, Clyde Geronimi and Wilfred Jackson)

I love Alice in Wonderland and I know this film isn’t critically acclaimed but I like it none the less. I watch it a lot of the time when I’m sad and makes me feel like I’m at home, cozy and warm.

13. Corpse Bride (2005, Tim Burton and Mike Johnson)

I really like Tim Burton films and I think his animated films are underrated. Corpse Bride is creepy yet funny and a musical. Stop motion lens itself to being creepy easily by exploring movement with shapes and speed making it interesting.

12. The Incredibles (2004, Brad Bird)

One of the best Pixar films by far, I also wished to be Violet because I thought it was a cool name but also she had cool powers. I think the fact she was introverted and shy also had something to do with it. I can’t wait for the sequel

11. The Black Cauldron (1985, Ted Berman and Richard Rich)

My favourite Disney movie as a child, yes it was the creepiest but that’s what I loved as child. My brother is 8 years older than me so when I was 6 he was 15 so would walk into the living room and he was watching Hellraiser and I would just join in like it was normal. (My Mum didn’t know about it) So I grew up watching creepy and scary films so loved the weirder animated films compared to the Princess films.

10. Toy Story (1995, John Lasseter)

Who doesn’t like Toy Story? I’ve never met any one who doesn’t like it.

9. Tangled (2010, Nathan Greno and Byron Howard)

This is my favourite Disney Princess movie, I never had a favourite as a child, they all annoyed me, I thought Snow White was arrogant, I don’t know why. But I really liked this one and wished it came out when I was younger as I would of loved it.

8. Boxtrolls (2014, Graham Annable and Anthony Stacchi)

Laika productions make the most incredible animations. They’re so creative and diverse in genre and narrative.

7. Shrek (2001, Andrew Adamson and Vicky Jenson)

I love how this film started out as a parody of the capitalism of Disney films but has become it’s worst nightmare and a living meme.

6. Scooby-Doo on Zombie Island (1998, Hiroshi Aoyama and Kazumi Fukushima)

When I was young I had to draw my favourite film and I drew this but the teacher didn’t believe me so gave me a lunch time detention. I went home and told my parents and the next day my Dad showed her the video of it to my teacher who had to apologise to me in front of the class. It’s a great film.

5. Fantastic Mr Fox (2009, Wes Anderson)

I love Wes Anderson and Roald Dahl books so this was the perfect combination for me. It’s funny and beautiful.

4. Frankenweenie (2012, Tim Burton)

Another underrated Tim Burton film, I love this film because it’s a love letter to old horror films. It uses conventions of them really well whilst still being it’s own film.

3. Coraline (2009, Henry Selick)

This film is the best film I’ve seen in 3D. It made the film spookier then it already was. When the other mother reaches up with her thin spider like hand it comes out at you a feels like she’s going to get you.

2. ParaNorman (2012, Chris Butler and Sam Fell)

I’ve put four Laika films in this list, I really like their work. This one has the first gay man in any animated film. It also uses horror conventions of old classic horrors with animation to create really creative visuals.

1. The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993, Henry Selick)

I fucking love this films so fricking much. Everything I want is in this film, spooky, musical, comedy and amazing visuals. I loved it as a child and I love it even more now. I know all the words to the songs and listen to soundtrack on a weekly bases.

Animation is an expressive form that allows you to create anything and everything. It doesn’t matter what genre or style it’s unique to the creator. I just went to see Kubo and The Two Strings and loved it so much (it’s not my favourite yet as i’ve only seen it once). It demonstrates with the development in technology it’s animation is just getting better and better. Once again highly recommend all these films, 11 out of 10.

Animation Isn’t Just For Children. Lucy.

