What I ACTUALLY Thought

Now summer is over I thought I’ll actually review what I said I was going to read this summer (https://mytrendingstories.com/article/my-summer-reads/ ) and see if I would actually recommend them.

books_e5uwfvr

Grace & Style : The Art Of Pretending You Have It by Grace Helbig 

This did not fail me, it was personal, loving and funny. It’s in no way pretentious about style, it’s about being comfortable in you and showing that. It makes you laugh at all the things we do with style which as just dumb but we go along with it any way.

8/10

The Wes Anderson Collection By Matt Zoller Seitz

This is great book about Wes Anderson’s films. It shows the detail parts of making a film like his and all this inspiration behind them The most interesting for me was Fantastic Mr Fox as you saw all the work that goes into making a stop motion animation.

8/10

Modern Romance: An Investigation By Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg

This is the most interesting book I’ve read in a long time. It discusses the way we now interact in the online dating scene and how technology has changed or not changed it. It talks about social, cultural and modern issues compared with other generations. It uses detailed research and analyses to discover trends in love but with Aziz Ansari’s funny commentary.

9/10

The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaiman

This books has made me fall in love with Neil Gaiman’s books. I have ordered more and now going through them. This book is fantasy, mystery and creepy making it everything I love. It follows one character, Bod, growing up in a graveyard with ghosts and having adventures along the way that all link to the last chapter.  This book is best read in October as it’s horror set in misty towns not on a hots summers day. The only reason I didn’t put it on my favourite books list (https://mytrendingstories.com/article/my-favourite-books/ )was because I knew I was going to write about it hear.

10/10

Fear Street : The Overnighter By R. L. Stine

As you know I love everything R. L. Stine (https://mytrendingstories.com/article/r-l-stine-greatness/ ) and this was the perfect summer read. It’s about a group of teenagers camping out in the summer but then things go wrong. There are plenty of twists and turns that will keep you guessing and never sure whats going to happen. There’s classic R. L. Stine lines that make you laugh and great chapter breaks.

9/10

Yes Please By Amy Poehler

This is the finally book from my summer reads list. I was really excited to read this and wasn’t disappointed. It was funny, so funny, thoughtful and human. It’s about being a human woman and what comes with that. It had personal points about her doing things wrong and having to say sorry even though it’s hard too. It’s about the love of everyone in your life and living your best life. However the last chapter disappointed me as it was about how she hated technology. It was disappointing from someone who is liberal and open to be so negative about technology when it does mostly good things. Though I still highly recommend this book.

8/10

I also read two more books that weren’t on my original list, I surprised myself and read more.

Women – Body Positive Art To Inspire And Empower By Carol Rossetti 

This book is so heart warming. Her description of feminism is the best I’ve ever read. This whole book is about supporting women, all women no matter what race, religion, sexuality, disability, gender and psychical appearance. The illustrations are beautiful too.

10/10

Pride And Prejudice And Zombies By Jane Austen And Seth Grahame-Smith

I wanted to read a Jane Austen book to be a cultured bitch but didn’t want to have to put myself through a boring romance novel (I saw the film) so instead I thought zombies would spice it up. I was wrong, I thought it would be cool and women kicking ass, which it partly is but still goes on about Mr Darcy for a long time. I’m glad I read it, it had the main story and writing style of Jane Austen but at the same time I wouldn’t read it again.

6/10

I really enjoyed my summer of reading and hope it continued into the rest of the year. I hope these give you some inspiration on what to read next and hope you had a great summer too.

Summer May Have Ended, But Now It’s Halloween Time. Lucy.

