It’s My Time Of The Year

Halloween movies are my favourite, even though Halloween is about frights and scares it doesn’t mean all the films are like that. Loads have goofs, gafs and lafs. Halloween films can be funny, spooky, charming and scary and that’s why their my favourite. So here they are all the best Halloween themed films I’ll be watching this year.

fav-halloween-films_article_large

Halloween (1978, John Carpenter)

I mean obvs. I love how this film is shot, it’s creepy and not a very bloody horror film. Horror films made today are from the victims point of view where are this film is from both sides. You get POV’s of Mike Myers and the audience knows where he is most of the time making is spookier.

Halloween H20: 20 Years Later (1998, Steve Miner)

The second best Halloween film in the series as it’s set in the 90’s has Jamie Lee-Curtis as a bad ass Mum and some great 90’s dialogue. It’s fun but horror everything I love in a film.

Scream (1996, Wes Craven)

On of the best written horror films using conventions of horror and film to great narrative for a knowing audience of film and horror. It has great acting and camera moves that make me excited every time I see them.

Hocus Pocus (1993, Kenny Ortega)

A giant of a Halloween film, the crown jewel if you will. Great acting, great story and the soundtrack pure quality. I listen to Bette Midler’s “I put a spell on you” religiously in October.

Carrie (1976, Brain De Palma)

I love the original film, it’s spooky and terrifying with religious symbols and abuse from her mother and people at school. Plus the pigs blood being poured on her is so iconic you get excited watching the film for just that scene.

The Craft (1996, Andrew Fleming)

Cool witchy greatness, if I was a witch this is the aesthetic I want.

Beetlejuice (1988, Tim Burton)

My favourite film of all time is also a great Halloween film, it’s spooky and 80’s af making perfect for this season. It has ghosts, hell, goths and a creep what’s more scary than that? It’s classic Tim Burton with real visual effects making it scary and funny.

The Addams Family (1991, Barry Sonnenfeld)

The most iconic family for Halloween, it’s dark humour with even more iconic characters. Halloween films become truly iconic pieces of art.

Young Frankenstein (1974, Mel Brooks)

Firstly, RIP Gene Wilder, secondly this is the best comedy horror film which makes me laugh every time and not a lot of comedies does that.

The Faculty (1998, Robert Rodriguez)

A sci-fi horror set in a 90’s high school, it has a great cast and great visual effect but even better 90’s bad CGI which I think helps make the films great. It’s funny being set in a high school with the usual high school drama but then with the addition of aliens.

Ghostbusters (1984, Ivan Reitman)

The 80’s version is a lot creepier with the visual effects as suppose to CGI. Maybe it’s just me but visual effects makes something seem so much scarier and creepier and that’s why a lot of these films in this list are are from the 80’s and 90’s.

It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown (1966, Bill Melendez)

A classic to watch whilst carving pumpkins and get you in the fun halloween spirit.

The Conjuring (2013, James Wen) The Conjuring 2 (2016, James Wen)

These are actually scary Halloween films and both are as good as each other. They have characters that you care about making the villain more scary and engaging as you don’t want anything to happen to them.

Casper (1995, Brad Silberling) 

Another fun halloween film and I think most people’s first crush was the human version of Casper.

Monster House (2006, Gil Kenan)

Another childhood Halloween film expect this one is actually scary as a kid.

The Exorcist (1973, William Friedkin)

This film is generally horrifying the first time you watch it and gives you some history to exorcism genre of horror. If you watch it with a group of friends though it can become very comical and a great drinking came. I’m currently watching the TV show which is great and can’t wait to see where it goes.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975, Jim Sharman)

One of my favourites for this time of year, it’s not only a halloween film with great costumes and set but it’s a musical, it’s about gender and sexuality, it’s everything I love AND it has Tim Curry too.

Coraline (2009, Henry Selick)

I love stop motion animation and this is one of the best and it’s even better in 3D. It highlights the creepy needle hands which really do feel like they are coming to you. This matched with spine chilling music which sounds like young children singing makes for some halloween chills.

Paranorman (2012, Chris Butler and Sam Fell)

Another stop motion film but this film uses conventions of horror films and makes them funny with creepy and creative visuals.

Poltergeist (1982, Tobe Hooper)

Don’t watch the re-make, it’s not worth it, the original is so great for its practical effects but be warned there was clowns in it if you don’t like them.

Hotel Transylvania (2012, Genndy Tartakovsky)

I didn’t think I would like this as it’s an Adam Sandler film but I heard Andy Samberg was in it so it had to be funny and I wasn’t disappointed, it’s a fun Halloween film for kids and reminds me of one of my favourite Scooby-Doo TV movies Scooby-Doo Ghoul School. Check it out, it’s sick.

Tower Of Terror (1997, D.J. MacHale)

I never had the Disney channel as a kid so my American friend showed me this and I loved it. I then went on the ride at Disneyland and the two of them together is a masterpiece.

Scooby-Doo (2002, Raja Gosnell)

ART

Scooby-Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed (2004, Raja Gosnell)

MORE ART

The Haunted Mansion (2003, Rob Minkoff)

A generally funny but scary film, I was scared of the zombies as a kid and would shut my eyes. Now I have been known to cry at the film instead.

The Shining (1980, Stanley Kubrick)

Jack Nicolson is one of the most terrifying actors and this film shows that. It’s set design is something that inspires me, the metaphor of his mind illustrated in the hotel makes me slightly scared every time I stay in a hotel with art deco carpet.

A Nightmare On Elm Street (1984, Wes Craven)

A dream of a film, it’s everything I love about filmmaking and horror in one. A great villain and concept with visual effects and music that haunts you in your dreams, literally.

Hush (2016, Mike Flanagan)

A modern take on a cabin in the woods film and house invasion genre of horror which has been over done. This makes it interesting and engaging with clever new twists as the main character is deaf so can’t hear the villain coming.

Housebond (2014, Gerard Johnstone)

I’ve never not liked a New Zealand film I’ve watched and this is one of the best, it’s so funny with a dry sense of humour but with a great plot twist that generally made me jump when it happened.

These are all the films I’ll be watching in October and can’t wait to get through them. Hope they can inspire a spooky movie night.

Don’t Let The Bed Bugs Bite. Lucy

