What I ACTUALLY Thought

Movies are one of the big parts of the summer and some of the most anticipated of the whole year and here’s what I thought of the films I was excited about this summer. (https://mytrendingstories.com/article/summer-films-coming-out/ )

summer-movies-2016_jzbtbpe_article_large

Ghostbusters (2016, Paul Fieg) 

I loved this film, I know there’s controversy around it but I really like it. Yes at some parts you can tell where they just started improvising and lost the plot a bit but that’s what you get with SNL actors. The real reason I love this is for the representation for little girls growing up seeing women being scientist, being funny and being kick ass.

8/10

Star Trek Beyond (2016, Justin Lin)

I wasn’t the biggest fan of this I thought previous films in the trilogy were better but I did enjoy it as a sci-fi adventure film. It was good not great.

6/10

BFG (2016, Steven Spielberg)

I didn’t see it

Suicide Squad (2016, David Ayer)

I don’t know where to start with film, I was so excited for it but it disappointed me, I still enjoyed it though if you watch it just for fun. The editing was weird, it was like they filmed the whole film and thought it was shit so did some “creative” editing to cover it up which was fine int he beginning when they were doing introductions to the characters but by the end it was boring and not needed. Jared Leto makes me laugh in it, he method acted it when he was in it for 3 scenes, makes me laugh every time. The best bit was Margot Robbie and Will Smith but even they couldn’t save it for me. They also made it feel like continuous music videos that didn’t link to each other. The soundtrack was great but not for this film.

5/10

Finding Dory (2016, Andrew Stanton, Angus MacLane)

LOL didn’t see this one

Now You See Me 2 (2016, Jon M. Chu)

The funniest film this summer without being a comedy. It’t so ridiculous that you can’t stop laughing, I encourage you to watch it with a friend and cackle all the way through it. The plot doesn;t make complete sense, the magic isn;t illusion it’s technology and cgi and so the opposite of the point of the film, the characters were bizarre, Woody Harrelson plays his own twin brother (yeah that kind of film) and you can tell all the original actors don’t want to be there. I highly recommend.

11/10

The Conjuring 2 (2016, James Wan)

I loved this, I think it was my favourite of the summer. It was jumpy and creepy and generally terrorizing especially The Crooked Man. it has great acting and characters making you want them to actually live.

9/10

The Neon Demon (2016, Nicolas Winding Refn)

This was nothing like I thought it would be, but damn I liked it. I studied films like this at university and it felt like an art film. I really enjoyed it and the visuals were amazing and created great metaphors at one point I shouted out “YASSSSS QUEEN” I mean it is a fashion horror so she was going to look great. However there is one part which is truly freaky and all I could think was WTF when I’ve seen weird films before but man this is another level.

8/10

Nerve (2016, Ariel Schulman, Henry Joost) 

M8 didn’t see this either

The Purge: Election Year (2016, James DeMonaco)

I would say this is the best Purge film in the series but once again it went from satirical to a slasher film two thirds of the way through. However the visuals this time were insane and beautiful.

6/10

Lights Out (2016, David Sandberg)

Nah didn’t see it

David Brent: Life On The Road (2016, Ricky Gervais) 

It was classic Office UK, funny and feelings. Though they tried to make you feel for Brent like in the last ever episode, the Christmas Special, but for me it didn’t work. Brent was so over the top I didn’t care for him but i did find him funny.

7/10

The final film wasn’t on the original list as I forgot it was coming out.

Kubo And The Two Strings (2016, Travis Knight)

This is definitely my favourite of the summer. The animation of this was next level, you can’t believe it’s stop motion. The story is a classic kung fu adventure using the creativity of stop motion making it spooky, funny and exciting.

10/10

Most of these films lived up to my exceptions, some didn’t. I still have some to watch and hope you enjoyed this summers films.

Bring On The Halloween Films. Lucy.

