It’s December So I Can Watch These Films Now!

merry-christmas-ya-filthy-animal-meme-something-9pqzrnib

It’s officially winter meaning it’s perfect conditions to sit cozy as a burrito in blankets with a cup of tea and Christmas film on. Here is my list of holiday essentials I watch every year:

How The Grinch Stole Christmas (2000, Ron Howard)

I always forget Oscar award winning director Ron Howard made this film, it makes it so much better. It’s iconic performance from Jim Carrey and the production is on another level of beauty and Christmas.

Elf  (2003, Jon Favreau) 

I’m not a big Will Ferrell fan but this film changes my mind on him. It’s classic with iconic lines and I romanticize New York at Christmas like so many of us.

Home Alone 1 (1990, Chris Columbus) and 2 (1992, Chris Columbus)

I think these are my all time favourite Christmas films, I have to watch them back to back but we don’t talk about 3.

The Muppet Christmas Carol (1992, Brian Henson)

I watch this every Christmas Eve with my Dad and I never get bored of Micheal Caine singing to Muppet characters. It was a surprising turn in his career and one that I’m glad happened.

Scrooged (1988, Richard Donner)

Bill Murrary in anything is good and this is no exception. It’s one of the funniest Christmas films and best adaptations of A Christmas Carol, so great I think Charles Dickens would approve it. (Don’t quote me on that)

Gremlins (1984,  Joe Dante)

Monster films are some of my favourite and a Christmas one makes it even better but the fact it was made in the 80s means its all practical effects and you know if it was made now it would be CGI and just wouldn;t have that same magic.

Jingle All The Way (1996, Brian Levant)

Arney… at Christmas… as a superhero… ART!

Die Hard (1988, John McTiernan)

This is always the first Christmas film I watch and is one of the best and one of the best action movies. Watching this year was different knowing that Alan Rickman (RIP) is dead made it sad when he dies in the film.

Batman Returns (1992, Tim Burton)

Not strictly a Christmas film but it’s set around that time and is the best of that series of films so love to watch it at this time of year. Also Michelle Pfeiffer and Danny DeVito are incredible in it.

Edward Scissorhands (1990, Tim Burton)

Another wintery film and another Tim Burton film, a gothic comedy Christmas film that can make you cry, a very niche genre.

Chicken Run (2000, Peter Lord and Nick Park)

I watch this film every Christmas with my family and every Christmas I fall asleep and in my 21 years on this planet I have never seen the end. I love the film don’t get me wrong, I just always have my Christmas nap during the film. Maybe this year is my year!

There it is my list of Christmas films, hope this inspires your Christmas movie watching.

Merry Christmas Ya Filthy Animal. Lucy.

