A Month Of Questionable Films

This month has been a mixture of good, bad and why the fuck am I watching this.

T2 Trainspotting (2017, Danny Boyle)

Danny Boyle is one of my favourite directors I’ve seen all his films and this didn’t disappoint. The first Trainspotting is so distressing and soul destroying whereas this 20 years late reunion was fun and yet surprising along the way. It was funny, heart warming with great direction by Danny Boyle. It used text on screen so much better than a lot of films and told a story in a way only a British films can.

9/10

Set It Off (1996, F. Gary Gray)

This film demonstrates how to create great characters and development whilst commenting on how black women are treated at work and in society leaving them to go to the extreme of bank heists. Not only a great plot but amazing cast of Queen Latifah, Jada Pinkett Smith and Vivica A. Fox.

7/10

 

Stonehearst Asylum (2014, Brad Anderson)

I watched this because my Dad told me too. I should of known by that it was going to be bad. It has a lot of great English actors and a plot that’s trying to be clever but is just predictable. I think it’s also confused about what genre it is as it’s not horror maybe thriller but it didn’t thrill me.

5/10

 

C.H.U.D (1984, Douglas Cheek)

This is a film and a half. Watch this with a drinking game otherwise it’s a challenge. Sober it’s still not so bad it’s good it’s just bearable with alcohol. I just couldn’t with this film.

2/10

 

Chopping Mall (1986, Jim Wynorski)

Now this is a film that’s so bad it’s great. A true scream queen film, with all the 80’s horror tropes are beyond amazing. Boobs, blood and screams the 80’s summed up.

11/10 (6/10)

 

Lady In The Water (2006, M. Night Shyamalan)

No.

No.

Nope.

Nah.

Absolutely not.

But also

NO

We gave up half way through this film, the script is just terrible, it doesn’t show and hint to the audience it straight up tells you what you already know.

1/10

 

The Village (2004, M. Night Shyamalan)

I went on an M. Night Shyamalan feast. I quite enjoyed this film, and the plot was great but didn’t pay off for me as much as it did for other people. It’s one of those films that I think you should see and not know anything about it but then don’t watch it again.

6/10

 

The Visit (2015, M. Night Shyamalan)

The last in the M. Night Shyamalan buffet and the most ridiculous film of his. It starts with an annoying cringey brother and ends you with kind of liking him but cringing at the same time. It’s in no way scary and when it tries to I laugh a deep obnoxious laugh.

4/10

 

Chain Reaction (1996, Andrew Davis)

Generic action film saved by Keanu Reeves

5/10

 

The Lego Batman Movie (2017, Chris McKay)

I haven’t laughed through out a film as much as this film in a while. It was clever, funny and silly my kind of film. The cast and soundtrack is also unbelievable and cheek it regularly to try and get my head around it.

8/10

 

John Wick (2014, Chad Stahelski)

Now this is a great action film with Keanu in. The action sequences, cinematography and soundtrack elevate Keanu’s performance not that he needs any help. Even though there were some very realistic car crashes that made my heart race and my mind to wonder to thoughts I didn’t want to have.

8/10

 

Raising Arizona (1987, John Coen)

One of Nicolas Cage’s greatest works.

10/10

 

Beyond Clueless (2014, Charlie Lyne)

This is a create documentary about 90’s teen movies, if you enjoy them then you should definitely watch this. If you don’t like them I don’t think you’ll enjoy it.

7/10

 

Peggy Sue Got Married (1986, Francis Ford Coppola)

Nicolas Cage singing!! It’s everything I’ve watched and more, except from a cohesive plot, that wasn’t there.

11/10 for Nic, 6/10 for the film

 

Hidden Figures (2016, Theodore Melfi)

Beyond. Whilst watching this film I went beyond. I’m just so happy that black women got the recognition and representation they deserved. Taraji P. Henson was amazing as always, the whole cast was, I laughed and cried. I cried when she was treated badly, I cried when she was gifted a necklace, a sign of acceptance.

10/10

 

Eagle vs Shark (2007, Taika Waititi)

The script was very well written on how they gave the audience information to continue the plot. But I didn’t think it was fantastic or extremely funny, in the middle.

5/10

 

Boy (2010, Taika Waititi)

After watching all of Taika Waititi’s work, I had to watch this to complete the set. This one really didn’t fail me, not only was it great direction from Taika Waititi but his acting was intense and passionate. After watching the film I watched interviews of him talking about what he wants to tell through his films. He talked about people and how they connect or don’t, especially families and father. Making total sense from all his works I’ve seen.

8/10

 

She’s All That (1999, Robert Iscove)

A classic teen film that everyone should watch at LEAST once.

8/10

That’s a total of 27 hours and 28 minutes I’ve spent watching films this month.

Film of the month: Boy, Hidden Figures or T2 Trainspotting.

I Couldn’t Choose One. Lucy.

