An Eclectic Mix Of Films

This month is a mixture of great films but not critically acclaimed things.

Singin’ In The Rain (1952, Stanley Donen and Gene Kelly)

This is my number one comfort film, I was sad at the beginning of the month, I put this film on and felt comforted by the spectacular Gene Kelly singing and dancing plus amazing physical comedy and the late great Debbie Reynolds

10/10

X-Men: Apocalypse (2016, Byran Singer)

I know loads of people didn’t like this but I really enjoyed it. Yes it’s campier than the others but the third film in superhero movies are always the campiest: Spider-man 3. I mainly loved this because it was set when all the main X-Men are teenagers, from growing up watching the cartoon X-Men series I really enjoyed it as a teen/sci-fi/action film.

8/10

Moana (2016, Ron Clements, Don Hall, John Musker and Chris Williams) 

Moana really stayed with me since watching it. it really warmed my cold, frosted heart, I think I’m going to write a post just about it as there are too many things to say. Overall the music and voice acting was great and the animation beautiful with a message of becoming who you want to be no matter your past or present situation.

9/10

ET (1982, Steven Spielberg)

I was ill so sat on the sofa with my duvet, tissues and a cuppa and cried 4 times during this film. I had forgot how beautiful and heart-breaking it is. Though the last time I cried was during the credits whilst remembering how great the lighting scheme of the film is.

9/10

Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure (1989, Stephen Herek) and Bill and Ted’s Bogus Adventure (1991, Peter Hewitt)

I’ve watched each of these films 3 times this month. I can officially say I’ll never get bored by these films. There so silly and just fun, I laugh every time at the jokes or Keanu Reeves’ acting in the so much I edited every “Whoa” he says into a supercut.

69/10 and 420/10

Hairspray (2007, Adam Shankman)

I just like to think of how John Travolta sings the word “Ham” in “You Can’t Stop The Beat”

7/10

Johnny Mnemonic (1995, Robert Longo)

Some great Keanu Reeves acting in this, him trying to be a human and disguise his truth of being a robot.

7/10

The Net (1995, Irwin Winkler)

We thought this would be the sister film to Jonny Mnemonic … we were wrong. It starts like any 90’s film involving hacking and the “net” but then things that a boring turn.

5/10

John Wick 2 (2017, Chad Stahelski)

I think you can tell I’ve been a little obsessed with Keanu Reeves recently. I think he’s an underrated actor and deserves more praise so here I am serving it. After the first 10 minutes of intense car crashes it turns into a creative action film. The scenes in a mirror maze whilst he’s fighting 30 bad guys is stunning.

8/10

Logan (2017, James Mangold)

This was a complete surprise for me, I didn’t like the other Wolverine films but this… this was an emotionally rollercoaster (I hate to use that over used phrase but wow) It was intense, funny, sad and shocking. I didn’t know anything about the film and I’m so glad I didn’t, I was generally stunned.

8/10

I Don’t Feel At Home In This World Anymore (2017, Macon Blair)

I watched this because I love Elijah Wood’s work and i think he was really good in this film but he must of hurt his back from carrying this film

5/10

Moonlight (2016, Barry Jenkins)

Beautiful

8/10

Unbreakable  (2000, M. Night Shyamalan)

Some people really love M. Night Shamalan’s films, I am not one of those people. I think he has high concept ideas that don’t deliver completely.

6/10

Split (2016, M. Night Shyamalan)

James McAvoy’s acting was fantastic and creepy but why was this connected to Unbreakable there was no reason for it. It was as if M. Night could only talk to Bruce Willis if they were working so made the end scene.

Hairspray Live! (2016, Kenny Leon, Alex Rudzinski)

It’s no Grease Live! but Ariana Grande was amazing in it, I would just watch it for her

7/10

Speed (1994, Jan De Bont)

Another Keanu Reeves film and this is on par with Die Hard as being my favourite action film of all time. It’s the only film I can watch with car crashes without having a panic attack and flashbacks

10/10

Sing (2016, Christophe Lourdelet and Gareth Jennings)

This was a lot better than I thought it was going to be. But I want a live action remake of Reese Witherspoon and Nick Kroll’s performance of “Shake it off”

7/10

Eddie the Eagle (2016, Dexter Fletcher)

A classic British film heartwarming film with great direction and Hugh Jackman in jeans, drunk, smoking skiing down a slope and landing in a heroic pose.

7/10

Point Break (1991, Kathryn Bigelow)

FBI Keanu Reeves undercover as a surfer? YESSS

7/10

Return of Bruno (1987, James Yukich)

A mockumentary with Bruce Willis (pre Die Hard) going through his life in the music business and the different musical eras with amazing guest stars including: Micheal J. Fox, Elton John, John Bon Jovi, Phil Collins and more.

11/10

Kong: Skull Island (2017, Jordan Vogt-Roberts)

I liked this film but I think the issue for me is that I don’t care for the story of King Kong but I really like the cinematography and the physically incorporating the music into the scenes and of course Brie Larson was fantastic.

6/10

The Nice Guys (2016, Shane Black)

An unexpected good comedy thats just silly and does comedy violence really well.

7/10

Speed 2: Cruise Control (1997, Jan De Bont)

Why, why, why and also why. Why did I watch this? Why did it get made? Why did Sandra Bullock say yes? Why on a cruise ship?

Choices

2/10

Deibra and Laney Rob A Train (2017, Sydney Freeland)

I watched this because had Josie from Riverdale in it and found it an uplifting film of an unconventional family trying to over come and succeed

6/10

The Devil’s Advocate (1997, Taylor Hackford)

Yep, another Keanu Reeves film and this one is a blessing. Charlize Theron was fantastic but under used, she should of had more screen time, but then again that would of meant less for Keanu so may be a balanced mixture of both

6/10

Get Out (2017, Jordan Peele)

An incredible horror film, with great social commentary and surprises. The end 15 minutes are incredible tense more tense than a lot of horror films, so tense that at car crash at the end caused me to have intense flashbacks and a panic attack.

8/10

Ex Machina (2014, Alex Garland)

British filmmaking at its best

8/10

Shrek 2 (2004, Andrew Adamson, Kelly Asbury and Conrad Vernon)

The best Shrek film. Fact.

11/10

Shrek The Third (2007, Chris Miller and Raman Hui)

Justin Timberlake. Shrek. Life Complete.

11/10

Looney Tunes Back in Action (2003, Joe Dante)

One of my favourite films of all time. It has cartoon Shaggy talking to live action Shaggy. Brendon Fraser punches celebrity Brendan Fraser in the face.

11/10

Little Shop Of Horrors (1986, Frank Oz)

I love Frank Oz and this might be my favourite musical, it’s so funny and dark with fantastic songs. The plant puppet is stunning, I can’t believe the detail in the puppet and the amazing lip sync of the puppet, it’s better than the lip sync in Shrek.

9/10

The Muppet Movie (1979, James Frawley)

I had never seen the original film and now I’m obsessed with “Rainbow Connection”

8/10

Beauty and The Beast (2017, Bill Condon)

I had low expectations of this but it surpass them. I really enjoyed it, the singing was great (especially Luke Evans and minus some of Emma Watson’s autotune), Luke Evans was incredibly funny and handsome, he’s confused me a lot… sexually. The new additions work well to fill in some of the plot holes in the animated film. I couldn’t stop laughing at Ewan McGregor’s voice and when the beast had his own song, it was so unexpected I couldn’t deal with it.

8/10

Shrek Forever After (2010, Mike Mitchell)

Why.

There is so much wrong with this film:

The soundtrack. The animation got worse? The terrible character development. The dialogue. The “jokes”. The plot, its the same as Harry Potter and The Curse Child meaning the whole film is invalid as it didn’t really happened. An ogre called Brogan. Ogre dancing. Flute covers of music.

This film will be playing on a loop in hell with Smash Mouth “All Star” screaming over it

-11/10

I spent 63 hours and 27 minutes watching films this month

Best of the month: Singin’ In The Rain, Moana, Speed, Little Shop of Horrors, Beauty and The Beast, Bill and Ted’s Bogus Journey and Looney Tunes Back In Action.

I Couldn’t Pick One. Lucy

