Sometimes You Need Comfort

Recently I’ve found when I’m upset I put on specific films because I know it will make me feel better, it’s incredible that there are some films that can make you feel comforted. It can only make the heart warmer and when the heart warms up it can help make everything seem, at least, a little better.

Here are my favourite comfort films that always manage to put a smile on my face

Wizard Of Oz (1939, Victor Fleming)

A young woman looking for me and finding a scarecrow, tin man and lion all to beautiful music song by the dreamy Judy Garland, yes please.

Singin’ in the Rain (1952, Stanley Donen and Gene Wilder)

This never fails to make me smile, Gene Kelly’s dancing and singing and amazing physical comedy in the film, plus the amazing Debbie Reynolds.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory (1971, Mel Stuart)

The best adaptation, with the best Willy Wonka by Gene Wilder and so many memories of watching it as a child

Young Frankenstein (1974, Mel Brooks)

Another fantastic Gene Wilder film with so many great one liners.

Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975, Terry Jones and Terry Gilliam)

My favourite Monty Python film and makes me laugh every time.

Clue (1985, Johnathan Lynn)

I love Tim Curry so much and this film is incredible, funny and clever.

The Goonies (1985, Richard Donner)

My favourite summer film and reminds me of summer time as a kid, playing in the woods going off on adventures in my mind.

Ferris Bueller’s Day Off (1986, John Hughes)

Just 80’s greatness

The Princess Bride (1987, Rob Reiner)

The most quotable film ever

FernGully: The Last Rainforest (1992, Bill Kroyer)

My favourite film as a child and that automatically makes a film comforting to yourself

Babe (1995, Chris Noonan)

Another childhood film but now is comforting in a different way because I just laugh at a fucking film about a pig!

Muppets Treasure Island (1996, Brain Henson)

Another Tim Curry excellence but with my favs, the Muppets. The Muppets are the definition of comfort, cuddly and funny topped with Tim Curry singing.

Matilda (1996, Danny DeVito)

Roald Dahl is very comforting for me, being read them as a kid and then watching the films, his fairytale Britishness makes me so happy

10 Things I Hate About You (1999, Gil Junger)

My favourite teen film and comforted me a lot through schoo,l of another place where theres a happily ever after

Little Miss Sunshine (2006, Johnathan Dayton and Valerie Faris)

Even though this is sad and heartbreaking it comforts me to see a supportive and loving family

High School Musical 2 (2007, Kenny Ortega)

It’s so camp and extra it makes me laugh every time.

Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016, Taika Waititi)

Taika Waititi is great at making heartbreaking comedies where it doesn’t just make you laugh but makes you care about the characters.

Beauty and the Beast (2017, Bill Condon)

This is the newest addition due to it’s camp and theatrical style it made me really happy after seeing it. I couldn’t stop smiling.

I Hope You Find Some Comfort. Lucy

