Finding New Comfort Films

This month it’s been a month of feel good films and trying to find new comfort films. New is the key to this month.

Free Fire (2017, Ben Wheatley)

It’s great to watch a new British film, it’s funny and thrilling from a film with a limited cast in one location. Very British.

8/10

Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (1994, Tom Shadyac)

I haven’t seen this film since I was 8 and it was a lot more sexual than I remember. I wish to be as extra as Ace but otherwise it’s such a bizarre and sometimes funny film. Emphasis on sometimes

5/10

High School Musical 2 (2007, Kenny Ortega)

Best film ever made. Fact. The drama, the camp, the script, the jokes, oh wow its all so bad. I love it!

11/10

The Great Muppet Caper (1981, Jim Henson)

I’m going through all the Muppet films, this one isn’t one of my favourites but it’s a Muppet film it’s still good.

6/10

Jumanji (1995, Joe Johnston)

People complain about the use of CGI in films but Jumanji uses it and everyone loves this film it’s know as a classic, so may be it’s not the special effects that are the problem but the bad story telling and so the rest of the film looks worse.

8/10

The Producers (1967, Mel Brooks)

I’d never seen this film and wasn’t disappointed. Any film with Gene Wilder in I’m going to love but this is an incredible comedy with great jokes and storyline.

8/10

Cinderella (2015, Kenneth Branagh)

I was unsure about this film but after seeing the re-make of Beauty and the Beast I thought I’ll give it a try. The production design and costume is INCREDIBLE, beautiful, I was gagging the whole way through the film from the aesthetic. I thought Lily James was unmemorable as Cinderella but the rest of the cast was great and thought the new additions and changed of the plot were needed and improved dramatically for me.

9/10

Carnage: Swallowing the Past (2017, Simon Amstell)

Wow, wow, wow and also wow. A generally funny mockumentary on being a vegan but with actual interesting information about the British meat industry. The fact that it’s set from the future where everyone is a vegan is genius.

8/10

Don’t Breathe (2016, Fede Alvarez)

I finally saw this film, I’m not crazy about it, it was a good horror film but not one I would watch again. The film is really in two halves. The first half is the best half using the “villain’s” blindness to create tension and but the second half takes a direction I didn’t think it was going in. It has generally tense moments but think it couldn’t of been pushed further.

5/10

I Am The Pretty Thing That Lives In The House (2016, Oz Perkins)

It was trying hard but the pay off never happened to me. Disappointing.

2/10

The Flintstones (1994, Brain Levant)

A childhood classic, I never realised how funny stone age puns can be.

6/10

The Secret of My Succe$s (1987, Herbert Ross)

This film has a dollar sign in the title, where do I start. This film was on TV over Easter (why I don’t know) and it’s the most 80’s film ever. The odd montages of the romantic interest and music choices makes everything overly sexual and in no way subtle

4/10

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013, Peter Jackson)

I only watched this because Beauty and the Beast awoken something in me when I saw Luke Evans on screen. I enjoyed it when I saw his face but hated everything else about the film. I love Lord of the Rings and this was a bad sequel to a prequel.

3/10

The Lord of The Rings: The Fellowship of Rings (2001, Peter Jackson)

I love Lord of The Rings as a teen I would watch them religiously but haven’t seen them in 5 years and it did not disappointed. This film has aged really well for being 16 years old.

9/10

The Muppets Take Manhattan (1984, Frank Oz)

A fantastic Muppet movie, one of the best and is actually a great film not just a great Muppet movie.

8/10

Enemy (2013, Denis Villeneuve)

I don’t know where to start with this film but I think it’s one of my favourites now. The script is clever and unpredictable I didn’t see the ending happening and made me jump. I was confused at the end of the film and watched an explanation video on YouTube and once I watched that and thought about the film, I was fascinated. The symbolism throughout the film is smart and subtly placed through out the film visually and through dialogue. Not forgetting Jake Gyllenhaal’s gripping performing and an interesting use of sound that I find synonyms with the director. This is how to make a film.

10/10

Sicario (2015, Denis Villeneuve)

I wanted to watch other movies by Denis Villeneuve and have already seen Prisoners and Arrival, two other fantastic films, this is my least favourite film of his but I think that’s mainly because the genre (police drug thriller) isn’t a genre I enjoy.

6/10

I spent 29 hours and 36 minutes watching films this month

Best of the month: Enemy, Cinderella, High School Musical 2 and The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings.

I Wish I Had Seen Enemy Sooner. Lucy.

