Interesting…

This month I’ve wanted to walk fun and comforting movies and this mix bag happened.

Johnny English (2003, Peter Howitt)

After a bad time in therapy theres nothing like coming back and watch Johnny English with your m8’s. I generally did this. It’s a time watching this. It’s kind of funny, not really at all, no. It’s silly. It’s Rowan Atkinson. It’s terrible.

4/10

Johnny English Reborn (2011, Oliver Parker)

We then watched the second one just to make myself feel even better. It’s even worse. I don’t think they even have plots during these films but their so silly and just some light hearted fun.

4/10

Scooby-Doo and the Ghoul School (1988, Charles A. Nichols and Ray Patterson)

The biggest throwback to my childhood ever. I owned this on video and would watch it all the time. i watched it so much whilst watching it now I could remember every line that was about to happen. It was mind boggling how the mind can remember the script to this and not why I watched into a room. I had forgotten about the Scrappy-Doo’s rap at the end and may be for good reasons.

11/10

Captain America: Civil War (2016, Anthony Russo and Joe Russo)

I didn’t see it when it first came out as Marvel annoys me now. It feels more like they’re trying to make money than good films but this was interesting. They really dealt with death and destruction and how that affects victims and the heroes. Spider-man was actually really funny and now less annoyed their doing another reboot of it. Otherwise it felt like another Avengers film with too many characters so the plot gets lost a little.

5/10

Muppets From Space (1999, Tim Hill)

I think this film is underrated. It may not be the funniest but I think it gernally has an interesting plot and really explores character. Yes I’m still talking about the Muppets. Plus the soundtrack consists of funk and disco classics even though its a sci-fi film? It’s a choice and I command it and this film is about Gonzo every ones favourite Muppet.

6/10

Before I Wake (2016, Mike Flanagan)

I love Mike Flanagan’s work and this did not fail me. It had a creative and new plot for a horror film with a great metaphor of trauma in children and recovery. I found it actually really creepy, not scary, but spooky and exciting. However, I felt the ending was way too happy and long, trying to make it a very happy ending.

8/10

Megamind (2010, Tom McGrath)

I have no idea why I watched this and I still don’t. It’s just meh. I don’t hate it but I don’t love it.

4/10

Legally Blonde (2001, Robert Luketic)

An incredible feminist movie that empowers me every time I watch it. It’s the ultimate feel good film because it’s about making women love themselves and other women instead of fighting all the time.

10/10

Mindhorn (2017, Sean Foley)

I’ve been needing to watch more British films, especially comedy and this film couldn’t of come at a better time. I way laughing all the way through, my favourite parts being anything with Russell Tovey in it.

8/10

Casting JonBenet (2017, Kitty Green)

This documentary is interesting and shocking but the format its filmed in is unusual and I’m not sure if it worked or not. It’s all done in reconstructions and auditioning actors to play the parts. A lot of the documentary is asking the actors opinions which I understand exploring the different possibilities from other people but it feels more opinion based than fact based of what happened on the horrible night. All this leads up to a creative and artistic ending but I don’t think the pay off of the ending was enough.

5/10

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (2017, James Gunn)

I realised since the accident I get naturally anxious before seeing action films as I’m worried there will be a car crash and I’ll have a flashback and a panic attack. So I couldn’t really enjoy this film but I did enjoy baby Groot and the character development especially in the female characters.

6/10

This month I’ve spent 19 hours 11 minutes watching films

My favourites of the month: Scooby-Doo and the Ghoul School, Legally Blonde and Before I Wake.

Lucy.

