I Went On Holiday… So I Read

This month has been a verity of different types of books. I also went on holiday so actually read a lot.

The Way Way Back Script (Nat Fazon and Jim Rash, 2013)

I’ve been learning more about script writing and so am reading more scripts. This is one of my favourite films and wanted to see how it was written. It was interesting, the scenes they cut out I could see why and how it actually added to the film. The way in which it is written is clear, simple and to the point, not very descriptive which a script should be and has helped me with how to write.

Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children Library of Souls (Ransom Riggs, 2016)

This is the third book in the series and a good ending to it. I think my favourite is the second as it’s peculiar children are in war time London, so has every event you want to happen but in creepier ways than you thought. Whereas this book was actually about going into the lions den, so was less horror/fantasy and more adventure/action. This doesn’t mean I disliked it at all, it was just different.

I do enjoy how these books are written as they are inspired by old photographs he finds and puts them in the book. They are spooky and it’s incredible they survived for so long. This is what advances these books as the photos are real, so grounds the story in some kind of truth even if it’s a start to a fictional story.

Fear Street: The Wrong Number (R.L.Stine, 1990)

I loved reading a Fear Street book in hot weather making it feel like a summer horror film. However this book wasn’t my favourites of this series, it felt like a lot of set up for the ending. To be fair the last 9 chapters were my favourite as it had Friday the 13th, Monster House and Scooby-Doo vibes. I enjoyed the end half and think it does pay off for all the set up you have to go through.

Tales of the Peculiar (Ransom Riggs, 2016)

These are short stories from the book referenced in Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children. It’s short stories of folklore and myths in the Peculiar world. These were really interesting to read as they had very modern themes; women being shunned away from science, the definition of beauty for women and how to love one another and forgive each other.

It’s inspiring to be able to read great female characters from a man, so hopefully Hollywood can do it too.

Time For Summer Reading. Lucy.

