It’s Been An Odd Month Of Films

The Room (2003, Tommy Wiseau)

The Citizen Kane of bad films. This film is a great example of how to make a bad film but I LOVE IT! Throughout the film I kept looking up facts about the filming process and it sounds like a shit show, but just enriches the film for me.

The best way to watch this film is with your m8’s and drinking the whole time. I was screaming with laughter and horror at this film. My favourite line is “hello dogy” which was improvised. The sex scenes are way too long and they use shots from the first sex scene in the second because the lead woman didn’t want to do another one with Tommy Wiseau.

I.N.C.R.E.D.I.B.L.E.

There so much to this film that makes me laugh and roll my eyes at, its a film everyone should watch. I then watched the video below about The Room and I see it in a new light, not a better light, the dimmer switch has been turned up a little bit more.

11/10

Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging (2008, Gurinder Chadha)

My American house m8 had never seen this film, so she had never fully understood who I am until we watched it. I was cringing the whole way through of the reminder of being 14 but the best thing to come out of this film is the line from Aaron Taylor-Johnson “Georgia, why are your legs orange?” but in a high pitched bad cockney accent. I LOVE IT.

10/10

The Mummy (1999, Stephen Sommers)

Brendan Fraser is the highlight of this film and the 2000’s. I did realise during this film that 2 hours of him is the most anyone can watch him. At the beginning of the film he’s handsome and fun but after 2 hours he seems more odd looking and annoying. He’s the one who got away. Imagine a world where he’s still a popular actor now, that’s the world I want to live in.

This film is just a fun adventure film, it’s Indiana Jones meets the 2000’s and definitely edited in on Windows movie maker.

11/10

Wonder Woman (2017, Patty Jenkins)

I’m going to make a post just about this film as it’s so important to me it deserves its own space.

Wonder Woman is a family entertainment film and for me it’s hard to be entertained without anxiety of car crashes going to happen, so it may not be the perfect film but to me it is

10/10

The Mummy Returns (2001, Stephen Sommers)

A good enough sequel that confirms all my ideas about Brendan Fraser

6/10

Hunt For The Wilderpeople (2016, Taika Waititi)

This is the second time I’ve watched this film this year and it’s still as great as the first time. This time I watched it on Farther’s Day with my Dad and realised it’s the perfect film to watch on Farther’s Day.

10/10

The Mummy: Tomb Of The Dragon Emperor (2008, Rob Cohen)

I have a theory that the third film in a trilogy has to be the campy version of the first film and this is the perfect example of this. It’s the extreme of The Mummy done badly and more campy. I kind of love it…

6/10

Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping (2016, Akiva Schaffer, Jorma Taccone)

This film could have been awkward and not funny really easily but it wasn’t! I should have more faith in Andy Samberg as he is great in everything. It’s a really good modern mockumentary making fun at popstar culture with amazing cameos including Ringo Starr!

7/10

Mamma Mia (2008, Phyllida Lloyd)

I watched Mamma Mia after watching the RuPaul’s Drag Race Finale as I was buzzed and drunk and seemed like the perfect time to put my house m8’s through Mamma Mia. To their surprise it was the perfect film to watch, it’s campy, weird, bad, amazing, extra and ABBA. We sang along, screamed at Pierce Brosnan and realised I am Julie Walters.

11/10

Moana (2016, Ron Clements, Don Hall, John Musker and Chris Williams)

I say it all HERE

10/10

The Lobster (2015, Yorgos Lanthimos)

I don’t know why I haven’t seen this film but I’m so glad I have, it’s one of those films you watch and realise this could teach you a lot.

The storytelling is creative with an amazing concept and commentary. It is funny and dark with beautiful music is. The shots are wonderful to look at and suit the mellow and emotionless tone of the film but conveys so much to the audience.

10/10

Okja (2017, Joon-ho Bong)

I really enjoy the directors work and think his films are beautifully written and shot with incredible music choices making scene memorable. The acting in the film is beyond, just beyond. Jake Gyllenhaal is mesmerising with his silliness but really shows how good of an actor he is.

The message of this film is haunting, I saw a tweet that sums it up; it’s a Disney film with guts. It’s about a young girl whose lovable animal best friend is kidnapped and she sets out to save him but this film shows why he was kidnapped and what happens after. The lowest point for the main character (Mija) is shocking as you think everything has got as bad as it can be but no this film wants to rip your heart out which I think is necessary to really get the message through.

8/10

I’ve spent 22 hours and 7 minutes watching films this month

Best films of the month: The Lobster, Wonder Woman and The Room

I Couldn’t Pick One Film Again. Lucy

